T2 Presents The Fall of the House

TheatreSquared Presents the Edgar Award-nominated Mystery
By Robert Ford — Directed by Kevin C. Fox (Sundown Town)
On Stage Friday, April 13 through May 6, 2012

NORTHWEST ARKANSAS—March 15, 2012On April 13, TheatreSquared will open The Fall of the House, the acclaimed new mystery by Artistic Director Robert Ford directed by Sundown Town veteran Kevin C. Fox. Nominated for the Mystery Writers of America’s 2011 Edgar Award, The Fall of the House connects the fraught journeys of two American women, separated by centuries, revealing the desperate bargains we make for love. The ensemble and design team for the new production, sponsored by the Willard and Pat Walker Charitable Foundation, brings together a professional roster of artists from Chicago and Northwest Arkansas. Following a public preview April 12, The Fall of the House plays Friday, April 13 through Sunday, May 6 in the 175-seat Studio Theatre at Walton Arts Center’s Nadine Baum Studios, with performances Thursdays at 7:30, Fridays at 7:30, Saturdays at 2:00 and 7:30, and Sundays at 2:00 and 7:00. Tickets start at $22 ($10/under 30) and can be purchased by calling the Walton Arts Center Box Office at (479) 443-5600 or by visiting theatre2.org.  Recommended rating: PG-13 (occasional strong language).

“I’m thrilled to return to Northwest Arkansas to reconnect with the region’s smart, energized theatre audience,” said director Kevin C. Fox, the Chicago-based artist who previously directed the World Premiere of Sundown Town at T2. “The Fall of the House is an intimate, time-jumping mystery with a gripping emotional journey at its core.  I’m honored to return to help bring Robert Ford’s rich new work to light.”

The Fall of the House, the newest work by T2 Artistic Director Robert Ford (‘Twas the Night, My Father’s War) had its premiere in 2010 at the Alabama Shakespeare Festival and was nominated for the 2011 Edgar Award for Best New Play. In this “haunting dreamscape of a play” (Theatre Montgomery), an escaped slave risks her freedom to confront Edgar Allen Poe in his final days. Two centuries later, a celebrated architect on trial for a fatal fire finds clues to an undiscovered past in a lost manuscript of Poe’s final work.

The cast for The Fall of the House includes: Christy Hall, Steven Marzolf, EJ Ogbeide, Laura Shatkus, Leslie Ann Sheppard, and John T. Smith (T2 credits: Mauritius, Jacob Marley’s Christmas Carol, Sundown Town).  The creative team includes: Kevin C. Fox (director) (Sundown Town, Sterling in Mauritius), Anna Lucia Dede-Panken (stage manager), Josh Tillotson (production head), Sarah Ross (scenic designer) (It’s a Wonderful Life), Shawn Irish (lighting designer), Christopher Kriz (sound designer), and Nathan Scheuer (assistant scenic design).

TheatreSquared will offer a free T2 Artists Forum with the director, playwright and cast of The Fall of the House in the Fayetteville Public Library Willard and Pat Walker Community Room on Tuesday, April 3 at 6:30pm. Ozarks at Large host Kyle Kellams will moderate the conversation with director Kevin C. Fox, playwright Robert Ford, and cast members, who will also perform a special ten-minute preview selection of a scene from the show. The forum will be broadcast regionally on KUAF 91.3fm. 

Tickets for The Fall of the House are on sale now at the Walton Arts Center Box Office, and can be reserved by calling (479) 443-5600 or visiting theatre2.org. Ticket pricing is as follows: Thursday 7:30pm, Saturday 2pm, Sunday 2pm, Sunday 7pm — $22 side/$25 center; Friday 7:30pm, Saturday 7:30pm — $26 side/$28 center. Performances with special pricing: Preview (April 12) — $18.50; Opening Night (April 13) — $28 side/$32 center. Opening Night performance includes a champagne toast at intermission and a post-show reception with the cast and creative team catered by BHK Kafé. Through the “30 under 30” youth access program, 30 $10 tickets are reserved for patrons under the age of 30 at every performance. Group discounts of up to 15% are also available.

TheatreSquared is Northwest Arkansas’s regional theatre, dedicated to creating exceptional theatrical works and innovative educational outreach. The theatre is the recipient of the 2011 National Theatre Company Grant from the American Theatre Wing, founder of the Tony Awards, recognizing the nation’s ten most promising emerging professional theatres. For further information, contact TheatreSquared at 479.445.6333 or visit the Theatre's website at theatre2.org.

Underwriting support is provided by the Willard and Pat Walker Charitable Foundation, Production Sponsor for The Fall of the House. Individual sponsors include Joel and Lynn Carver and Carolyn and Nick Cole.

Major funding for the TheatreSquared Season 6 is provided by The Walton Family Foundation, Inc., and the Arkansas Arts Council, an agency of the Department of Arkansas Heritage and the National Endowment for the Arts.

Major marketing support for TheatreSquared Season 6 is provided by the Fayetteville Advertising and Promotions Commission. Media sponsors include NWA Media, CitiScapes, KUAF and Mailco USA.
Martin Miller