TheatreSquared Announces 2009 Gala for Education

Louise Schaper to Receive 2009 Premier Award
Robert Sutton, Leading Broadway Actor, to Perform
November 20, 2009, 7-10pm at Teatro Scarpino

Gala Co-Chairs: Ted and Leslie Belden, Jim and Nancy Blair, Patric and Terrye Brosh,
Hershey and Denise Garner, Jeff and Lisa Gearhart, Bob and Linda McMath, Frank and Sara Sharp

Fayetteville, AR—October 22, 2009—TheatreSquared announced today its annual Gala for Education, supporting arts-in-education outreach for students and teachers throughout Northwest Arkansas. The celebration, catered by Chef David Lewis, will feature a special cabaret performance by Broadway veteran and Arkansas native Rob Sutton, whose one-man cabaret was a runaway hit in New York. Louise Schaper, outgoing Executive Director of Fayetteville Public Library, will receive the 2009 Premier Award. The event will be held November 20, 2009 from 7-10pm at Teatro Scarpino in downtown Fayetteville.

"I'm proud to support this important educational program, which brings over a thousand students to the Theatre each year and innovative teaching strategies into the region's classrooms," said Jeff Gearhart, one of the event's co-chairs and Executive Vice President at Walmart Stores. "Extending barriers-free access and learning initiatives to our youth is a vital part of what makes Northwest Arkansas such a rich cultural community."

The distinguished roster of community co-chairs for the event includes
Ted and Leslie Belden, Jim and Nancy Blair, Patric and Terrye Brosh, Hershey and Denise Garner, Jeff and Lisa Gearhart, Bob and Linda McMath, and Frank and Sara Sharp.

Guests will enjoy an elegant dinner catered by Chef David Lewis of Fayetteville's Brick House Kitchen, as well as a selection of wines and beer. Dress is business casual. Sponsorship levels, which include a table of 8 at the event, range from $750 to $7,500. Individual tickets are  available for $100. Seating in the intimate Teatro Scarpino is limited to 180 guests.

All proceeds from the event will benefit T2 for Education, TheatreSquared's landmark educational program serving students and teachers throughout Northwest Arkansas. Combining the expertise of leading educators and artists, this comprehensive arts-in-education program offers student performances, teacher workshops, professional training academies and a variety of collaborative educational initiatives. 

Louise Schaper, 2009 Premier Award recipient, is the outgoing Executive Director of Fayetteville Public Library (FPL), retiring after a decade of service on October 30.  Under her stewardship, FPL has grown into a national leader in library services, opening a new facility in 2004 and winning Library of the Year Award from Library Journal in 2005. The Premier Award recognizes Ms. Schaper's indelible contributions to the Northwest Arkansas cultural community, benefiting students, teachers and citizens alike for decades to come.

Rob Sutton
returns to his native Arkansas for the 2009 Gala where he will deliver for a 30-minute command performance of cabaret highlights. Mr. Sutton has appeared in multiple New York and regional productions, with credits including Beauty and the Beast on Broadway, The Last Five Years, and Mamma Mia!. His one-man cabaret, Taking the Wheel, was critically and popularly acclaimed in its Off-Broadway run.

Those interested in participating in the 2009 T2 Gala for Education should contact Martin Miller, Managing Director, at 479.445.6333 or visit for more information.
TheatreSquared is Northwest Arkansas's regional theatre, dedicated to creating exceptional theatrical works and innovative educational programs.

Martin MillerComment